Front

Introduction

The City University of New York (CUNY) excavations (formerly the University of Reading excavations) focus on Area 1 in order to capture a holistic view of a single Romano-Egyptian neighborhood. Area 1 is characterized by mixed spatial usage and includes houses, a ceramics production area, and a large open courtyard.

One house (B2), dating to the mid-late third century until the early fourth century, has already been excavated as part of the Amheida Project, and a full publication will go to press later in 2012. Current and future excavations by the CUNY team will take place around this structure in order to explore small-scale social relationships, economic exchanges, and domestic life.

Acknowledgements

The CUNY excavations at Amheida have been generously funded by the Society of Antiquaries of London (2011, 2013), the Thames Valley Ancient Egypt Society (2011), and the Department of Archaeology at the University of Reading (2011, 2012).

Reports

Field report 2013
Field report 2012

Directory

Director
Anna Lucille Boozer (Baruch College, City University of New York)
anna.boozer@baruch.cuny.edu

Assistant to the Director and Site Supervisor
Ashraf Barakat (Mansoura)
hsmashraf3@yahoo.com

Archaeological Photography
Amalea Dora Burr
amaleadora@alum.rit.edu

Archaeological Illustration
Sarah Lucas (University of Reading)
s.m.lucas@reading.ac.uk

Archaeobotanist
Lisa Lodwick (Oxford University)
lisa.lodwick@arch.ox.ac.uk

Archaeologists
Elizabeth Warkentin (University of Memphis)
erwarkentin@gmail.com

Genevieve Donovan (University of Memphis)
gdonovan@memphis.edu

Ceramicist
Ashraf Senussi (Supreme Council of Antiquities)
ashrafsenussi@yahoo.com

Jane Timby
jane.timby@media-maker.com

Papyrologist/Epigrapher
Dr. Giovanni R. Ruffini (Fairfield University)
gruffini@fairfield.edu

Registrars
Elizabeth Mazucci (September 11 Museum)
lmazucci@sept11mm.org

Elizabeth Warkentin (University of Memphis)
erwarkentin@gmail.com

Topographer
Dr. Gabor Thomas (University of Reading)
gabor.thomas@reading.ac.uk

Database management and computer operations
Bruno Bazzani
bruno.bazzani@poste.it

House Manager
Gaber Murad (Dakhleh)
gaberegypt2012@yahoo.com